Emma Raducanu blasts Nottingham Open umpire after winning ‚2v1‘ match | Tennis | Sport

Emma Raducanu was far from happy with the officiating during her 6-1, 6-4 victory over Ena Shibahara at Nottingham’s Rothesay Open, claiming that she was playing “two versus one” against her opponent and the umpire.

Brazilian official Ana Carvalho called against Raducanu on a number of tight calls, which the Brit felt were “insane” at a tournament where Hawk-Eye is not in use.

The umpire overturned her line judge’s out call for a backhand from Shibahara in the third game, the third such decision that Raducanu felt was unjust.

Raducanu stormed to Carvalho to argue with the umpire over the decision, in which she claimed her opponent “reacted like it was out” but such remonstration proved fruitless.

She was able to rally back and claim a first win on a grass court in 713 days in preparation for Wimbledon, but repeatedly slammed the officiating in Nottingham.

“I feel like I was playing two v one on court – it was insane,” said Raducanu. “I would have used probably at least four challenges [if we’d had them].

“I think a lot of the time they go both ways. Today I felt they were all against me but it just makes me feel better that I managed to beat her and the umpire as well. It is difficult when there is no challenge but it is something everyone has to deal with. Maybe it was just trying to make the match more competitive.

“It’s something I had to deal with and overcome. I am very pleased with the attitude I came out with from the get-go and also having to deal with the adversity too.”

In the second set, Raducanu was similarly unhappy with a “really bad” line call in her 70-minute victory, but looked at ease on grass as she gears up for a return to SW19.

“I feel this year Hawk-Eye has been a little bit off – I don’t know why,” added Raducanu. “I think there is a beauty in having all the linesmen and it does add to the drama for the spectators. For us it can be the most frustrating thing ever.”

Source link